Student Services

Dear Families,

During these difficult times, it is important that we are available to support students who may be struggling with online learning, not being with friends, or with limited ability to connect with people outside of the home. Our Student Service team, made up of Mrs. Hammett, Mrs. Hein, Mrs. Demske, and Mrs. Trowbridge will be available to connect with students who may need additional support.

We have created as easy to fill out form if you would like to reach out to a school counselor or psychologist. Please use the link below.

REQUEST FOR COUNSELOR CONTACT




PARENT RESOURCES

Click on the icon below for some calming exercises to do with you children.

icon for calm.com that says take a deep breath


Click on the icon below for 37 techniques to calm an anxious child.

icon gozen.com with live link



Click the link below for flashcards to help students practice mindfulness.

Prisma Pal Flash Cards

picture of prisma pal flashcards







BULLYING/HARASSMENT

There are two ways you can report an incident of bullying and/or harassment: a printable form or and online form. If you have any questions, please call the office.

Printable Report Form
Please print and fill out this form and return to the school administrative office.

Online Report Form
Please fill out this form online and submit.




SUICIDE PREVENTION

suicide prevention lifelife 1-800-273-8255


STUDENT SERVICE WEB PAGE LINKS

SPECIAL EDUCATION REFERRAL AND EVALUATION PROCEDURE

ANNUAL NOTICE OF SPECIAL EDUCATION REFERRAL AND EVALUATION PROCEDURE

Upon request, the School District of Thorp is required to evaluate a child for eligibility for special education services. A request for evaluation is known as a referral. When the district receives a referral, the district will appoint an Individualized Education Program (IEP) team to determine if the child has a disability, and if the child needs special education services. The district locates, identifies, and evaluates all children with disabilities who are enrolled by their parents in private (including religious) schools, elementary schools and secondary schools located in the school district. A physician, nurse, psychologist, social worker, or administrator of a social agency who reasonably believes a child brought to him or her for services is a child with a disability has a legal duty to refer the child, including a homeless child, to the school district in which the child resides. Before referring the child, the person making the referral must inform the child's parent that the referral will be made. Others, including parents, who reasonably believe a child is a child with a disability may also refer the child, including a homeless child, to the school district in which the child resides. Referrals must be in writing and include the reason why the person believes the child is a child with a disability.

Please contact the following when you have a referral: Nicole Demske, School Psychologist, School District of Thorp: 715 669 5548



SPECIAL EDUCATION & STUDENT SERVICES STAFF

Misti Trowbridge
Director of Student Services
715 669 5548
Mtrowbridge@thorp.k12.wi.us

staff photo of mrs. Trowbridge


Nicole Demske
School Psychologist
715 669 5548
Ndemske@thorp.k12.wi.us

staff photo of Mrs. Demske


Siobhan Hammett
Elementary/Middle School Counselor
715 669 5548
Shammet@thorp.k12.wi.us

staff photo of Ms. Hammett


Cathy Hein
High School Counselor
715 669 5401
Chein@thorp.k12.wi.us

staff photo of Mrs. hein


Jessica Morello
Speech and Language Clinician
715 669 5548
Jmorello@thorp.k12.wi.us

Elizabeth Slack
Speech and Language Clinician (Early Childhood/Private Schools)
715 669 5548
Eslack@thorp.k12.wi.us

Jamie Smith
School Nurse
715 669 5548
Jsmith@thorp.k12.wi.us

Pat Hull
Health Assistant/Student Service Support
715 669 5548
Phull@thorp.k12.wi.us

Erinn Zillmer
Early Childhood/Elementary Special Education Teacher
715 669 5548
Ezillmer@thorp.k12.wi.us

Alyssa Gordon
Elementary Special Education Teacher
715 669 5548
Agordon@thorp.k12.wi.us

Jill Penk
Elementary Special Education Teacher
715 669 5548
Jipenk@thorp.k12.wi.us

Jane Hollister
Middle School Special Education Teacher
715 669 5548
Jhollister@thorp.k12.wi.us

Jackie Wiegel
High School Special Education Teacher
715 669 5401
Jwiegel@thorp.k12.wi.us

Special Education Paraprofessionals

Cindy Alger
Stephen Kelley
Barb Williams
Ed Williams
Noreen Tyznik
Pam Lacanne
Donna Kotecki